HOME >> Pictures >> North Korea

North Korea Picture Gallery


The capital and biggest city is Pyongyang. North Korea shares a land boundary with China to northwest and the north, along the Amnok and Tumen rivers. A tiny segment of the Tumen River additionally forms the short edge with Russia in North Korea to the northeast. The Korean Demilitarized Zone indicates the border between South Korea and North Korea. The legality of the edge isn't accepted by either side, as both states promise to be the legitimate government of the whole peninsula.

In 1945, when Japan was defeated in the second world war, Korea was split into two zones that were occupied, with the north inhabited by the south by America as well as the Soviet Union. Dialogues on union failed, and in 1948 two different authorities were formed: the Republic of Korea in the south, as well as the Democratic People's Republic of Korea in the north. The conflicting claims of sovereignty caused the Korean War in 1950. An armistice in 1953 perpetrated to a ceasefire, because a proper peace treaty was never signed, but the two nations stay formally at war.

The DPRK formally describes itself as a socialist state and holds elections, but it's broadly considered a dictatorship and has really been described as Stalinist and totalitarian with an elaborate cult of personality round the Kim family. The Workers' Party of Korea, headed by an associate of the ruling family, directs the Democratic Front for the Reunification of the Fatherland of which all political officers must be a member and holds power in the state. Juche, an ideology of self reliance started by the first President, Kim Il-sung of the country's, became the official state ideology, replacing Marxism Leninism, when the nation adopted a new constitution in 1972.