HOME >> Channels >> Ebola

Ebola   

 

Ebola virus disease (EVD), Ebola hemorrhagic fever (EHF) or simply Ebola is a disease of humans and other primates caused by an ebolavirus. Symptoms start two days to three weeks after contracting the virus, with a fever, sore throat, muscle pain and headaches. Typically, vomiting, diarrhea and rash follow, along with decreased function of the liver and kidneys. Around this time, affected people may begin to bleed both within the body and externally.

The virus may be acquired upon contact with blood or other bodily fluids of an infected human or other animal. Spreading through the air has not been documented in the natural environment. Fruit bats are believed to be a carrier and may spread the virus without being affected. Once human infection occurs, the disease may spread between people as well. Male survivors may be able to transmit the disease via semen for nearly two months. To diagnose EVD, other diseases with similar symptoms such as malaria, cholera and other viral hemorrhagic fevers are first excluded. Blood samples are tested for viral antibodies, viral RNA, or the virus itself to confirm the diagnosis.

News about Ebola
Mark Sampson contradicts own evidence over Eni Aluko and Ebola statements The Guardian (Tue Sep 12)
When Liberia went into lockdown against Ebola, the country's fledgling movie industry kept going… CNN International (Tue Aug 22)
Was faulty protective equipment sold to health care workers during Ebola outbreak? @AndersonCooper investigates:… CBS News (Sun Aug 06)
"Every time he starts to speak about Ebola, he cries." Mosoka Fallah was the strategist for Liberian Ebola respons… Al Jazeera English (Mon Jul 10)
"Nothing was easy for me but I just had to fight it." Ebola survivor Dominic Kollie in Liberia shares his story:… Al Jazeera English (Mon Jul 10)
Ambulance driver Foday, stuck around to help Ebola victims in Liberia as many were "running away". Foday's story:… Al Jazeera English (Mon Jul 10)
Dr Brown: "Every time we saw someone survive, it was a kind of jubilation" I Liberia after Ebola:… Al Jazeera English (Sun Jul 09)
Liberia after Ebola: We speak to some of the Liberians who were affected by the 2014 outbreak… Al Jazeera English (Sun Jul 09)
Recent Ebola outbreak in Democratic Republic of Congo is over, World Health Organization says… CNN International (Mon Jul 03)
Recent Ebola outbreak in Democratic Republic of Congo is over, World Health Organization says… CNN (Mon Jul 03)
An outbreak of Ebola virus in Democratic Republic of Congo has ended NBC News (Sun Jul 02)
Recent Ebola outbreak in Democratic Republic of Congo is over, World Health Organization says… CNN (Sun Jul 02)
Recent Ebola outbreak in Democratic Republic of Congo is over, World Health Organization says… CNN International (Sun Jul 02)
Recent Ebola outbreak in Democratic Republic of Congo is over, World Health Organization says… CNN Breaking News (Sun Jul 02)
DR Congo declares end of Ebola outbreak FRANCE 24 English (Sun Jul 02)
Ebola burial teams dramatically West Africa outbreak: study FRANCE 24 English (Fri Jun 23)
Return to Liberia: Life after surviving Ebola Al Jazeera English (Tue Jun 13)
Survivors in Liberia tell us how Ebola changed their lives and their country via… Al Jazeera English (Sun Jun 11)
'Ebola united Liberians' 3 years after the Ebola crisis, survivors in Liberia tell us how their lives changed… Al Jazeera English (Sun Jun 11)
Ebola survivors BBC News (World) (Mon Jun 05)
Christie nearing settlement in nurse's Ebola quarantine CTV News (Sun Jun 04)
Ebola epidemic in Congo ‘under control’: health minister The Globe and Mail (Fri Jun 02)
How one simple device combats both Ebola and extremist attacks NBC News (Fri Jun 02)
DR Congo authorises trial of experimental Ebola vaccine FRANCE 24 English (Tue May 30)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Sat May 27)
Ebola outbreak in Central Africa, officials scramble to control virus' Fox News (Fri May 26)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Fri May 26)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Wed May 24)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Tue May 23)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Mon May 22)
Ebola outbreak: The CDC isn't ready to issue a travel advisory just yet Newsweek (Sun May 21)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Sun May 21)
Ebola outbreak: The CDC isn't ready to issue a travel advisory just yet Newsweek (Sat May 20)
Ebola is just one of the reasons why Trump’s health secretary is in Liberia Newsweek (Sat May 20)
Researchers have found antibodies from an Ebola survivor that stop the virus from spreading Newsweek (Sat May 20)
Ebola is breaking out in the DR Congo but the CDC isn't ready to issue a travel advisory Newsweek (Fri May 19)
Ebola is back. Here are the challenges ahead TIME (Fri May 19)
Ebola is back. Here are the challenges ahead TIME (Fri May 19)
Officials confirm second case of Ebola in Congo outbreak TIME (Tue May 16)
WHO confirms a small Ebola outbreak in Congo NBC News (Mon May 15)
Ebola kills three people in the Democratic Republic of Congo, World Health Organization reports.… CNN Breaking News (Sun May 14)
Ebola outbreak declared in Democratic Republic of Congo after three die The Guardian (Fri May 12)
New Ebola outbreak declared in Democratic Republic of Congo Washington Post (Fri May 12)
Meet Sierra Leone's 'special forces' Ebola nurses Al Jazeera English (Fri May 12)
Next Ebola outbreak 'inevitable' but world better prepared: WHO FRANCE 24 English (Fri May 05)
WHO chief praises Guineans for their role in helping to develop vaccine against deadly Ebola virus: CBC News Alerts (Thu May 04)
"You can't bomb Ebola": How nations should handle the next pandemic TIME (Thu May 04)
"You can't bomb Ebola" — how nations should handle the next pandemic TIME (Wed May 03)
Mysterious Ebola-like illness kills 12 in Africa - WHO RT (Wed May 03)
Worse Than Ebola: U.S. not preparing for the next bio-threat NBC News (Tue May 02)
Mystery illness kills 11 in Liberia one year after Ebola outbreak NBC News (Fri Apr 28)
A mysterious illness kills 11 young people in Liberia, where Ebola Washington Post (Fri Apr 28)
The WHO failed on Ebola. With a future pandemic inevitable it needs reform | Andrew Mitchell The Guardian (Thu Apr 27)
Guinea city turns page on Ebola as World Book Capital FRANCE 24 English (Mon Apr 24)
After traumatic ebola outbreak, Liberia sets goal of expanding access to mental health care to 70% of its populatio… ABC News (Sat Apr 22)
What it’s like ... to help patients during an Ebola outbreak From @Globe_Health The Globe and Mail (Wed Apr 19)
Grief etched in stone: Sierra Leone finally lays Ebola to rest – in pictures The Guardian (Tue Apr 18)
Grief etched in stone: Sierra Leone finally lays Ebola to rest – in pictures The Guardian (Tue Apr 18)
Ebola nurse Pauline Cafferkey: return to Sierra Leone will give me closure The Guardian (Wed Apr 12)
Zika, Ebola, HIV, H1N1. Should we worry about the next deadly outbreak? See what's being done to prevent a pandemic… CNN (Fri Apr 07)
Doctor who lied about Ebola nurse temperature suspended for one month The Guardian (Thu Mar 30)
Doctor was 'dishonest' in screening nurse who had Ebola, tribunal finds The Guardian (Mon Mar 27)
Doctors in Liberia test new Ebola vaccine Al Jazeera News (Thu Mar 23)
Canadian scientists discover hepatitis drug slashes Ebola death rate in possible breakthrough… National Post (Mon Mar 20)
"We are not ready": Experts warn that the world is unprepared for next Ebola-size outbreak CBS News (Thu Mar 16)
Two-part Ebola vaccine shows potential for long-lasting protection The Globe and Mail (Wed Mar 15)
REWIND visits Liberia to see how the 2014 ebola outbreak became a crisis fueled by anger and fear… Al Jazeera English (Wed Mar 08)
Ebola vaccine tested on humans in UK trials BBC News (World) (Wed Mar 08)
Liberian Ebola fighter, a TIME Person of the Year, dies in TIME (Tue Feb 28)
Ebola survivor and frontline fighter dies after childbirth complications The Guardian (Tue Feb 28)
Three percent of people with Ebola were to blame for 61% of all cases during the 2014 West Africa epidemic… Al Jazeera News (Tue Feb 14)
Small percentage of people spread most Ebola cases: study FRANCE 24 English (Tue Feb 14)
61 percent of Ebola cases were caused by just 3 percent of infected persons Newsweek (Tue Feb 14)
Almost two-thirds of cases in the West African Ebola outbreak were caused by just 3 percent of infected people… Newsweek (Tue Feb 14)
61% of Ebola cases were caused by just 3% of infected persons Newsweek (Wed Feb 15)
This "scorecard" makes it easier to fight Ebola outbreaks—and could make all the difference if the epidemic returns… Newsweek (Mon Feb 13)
Superspreaders drove Ebola epidemic, study finds NBC News (Tue Feb 14)
Ebola 'super-spreaders' cause most cases BBC News (World) (Tue Feb 14)
Ebola's long-term effects revealed FRANCE 24 English (Sat Jan 14)
Doctor who survived Ebola after contracting it in Liberia has quietly returned to practicing medicine in Fort Worth… ABC News (Wed Dec 28)
Doctor who survived Ebola after contracting it in Liberia has quietly returned to practicing medicine in Fort Worth… ABC News (Tue Dec 27)
Doctor who survived Ebola after contracting it in Liberia has quietly returned to practicing medicine in Fort Worth… ABC News (Wed Dec 28)
A new study found an Ebola vaccine protected 100% of people who received it: CNN International (Mon Dec 26)
A new study found an Ebola vaccine protected 100% of people who received it: CNN (Mon Dec 26)
Canadian vaccine for Ebola virus proves highly effective in Guinea trial The Globe and Mail (Fri Dec 23)
New Ebola Vaccine Gives 100 Percent Protection The New York Times (Fri Dec 23)
Ebola vaccine shown to be ‘highly protective’ against deadly virus in major trial Washington Post (Fri Dec 23)
Canadian vaccine for Ebola virus proves highly effective in Guinea trial From @IvanSemeniuk The Globe and Mail (Fri Dec 23)
Ebola vaccine is the first to block infection TIME (Fri Dec 23)
Final test results confirm Canadian vaccine for ebola is highly effective National Post (Fri Dec 23)
Final test results confirm an experimental Ebola vaccine is highly effective. The Associated Press (Fri Dec 23)
Final test results confirm experimental Ebola vaccine highly effective Fox News (Fri Dec 23)
Ebola vaccine highly effective, scientists assert after trials FRANCE 24 English (Fri Dec 23)
World Health Organisation develops vaccine that is 100 percent effective against the deadly Ebola virus… Al Jazeera News (Fri Dec 23)
Ebola vaccine may be 'up to 100% effective': WHO FRANCE 24 English (Fri Dec 23)
A new Ebola vaccine gives 100% protection The New York Times (Fri Dec 23)
WHO: Experimental Ebola vaccine was tested on nearly 6,000 patients in Guinea Al Jazeera News (Fri Dec 23)
Experimental Ebola vaccine completely protected people from the killer virus, researchers report… NBC News (Fri Dec 23)
'A game changer': Winnipeg-made Ebola vaccine highly effective CTV News (Sat Dec 24)
Ebola vaccine is safe and effective, scientists declare after trials The Guardian (Thu Dec 22)
Winnipeg lab researcher potentially exposed to Ebola has been cleared CTV News (Mon Dec 12)
Why some people who get Ebola don't show symptoms TIME (Mon Dec 12)
Ebola in Sierra Leone: 'The scars still show. People are very angry' The Guardian (Mon Dec 05)
Winnipeg lab worker released after Ebola infection scare: official The Globe and Mail (Mon Nov 28)
Ebola nurse suspended after falsifying Pauline Cafferkey's temperature The Guardian (Fri Nov 25)
Ebola nurse hits out at 'blame culture' at Public Health England The Guardian (Fri Nov 25)
Ebola nurse Donna Wood could be struck off over Cafferkey screening The Guardian (Wed Nov 23)
Ebola nurse Donna Wood had unblemished record, tribunal hears The Guardian (Thu Nov 24)
The Ebola outbreak may have been bigger than believed, with "invisible" infection Washington Post (Fri Nov 18)
West Africa to target human and animal health together to fight Ebola and Zika The Guardian (Thu Nov 17)
Nurse denies falsifying Ebola patient Pauline Cafferkey's temperature The Guardian (Thu Nov 17)
Half of Ebola screening staff at Heathrow 'were not clinically qualified' The Guardian (Tue Nov 15)
Ebola might not make some people sick, according to a new study NBC News (Wed Nov 16)
Ebola, which killed more than 3,580 people in 18 months, left behind a legacy of PTSD in Sierra Leone… Al Jazeera English (Sat Nov 12)
Volunteers who fought Ebola for Sierra Leone – one year on The Guardian (Fri Nov 11)
Ebola, which killed more than 3,580 people in 18 months, left behind a legacy of PTSD in Sierra Leone… Al Jazeera English (Thu Nov 10)
The Ebola virus mutated to better infect humans during the 2014 Washington Post (Thu Nov 03)
Ebola mutated during West Africa epidemic, studies find NBC News (Thu Nov 03)
How Ebola got so deadly TIME (Thu Nov 03)
Ebola shows signs of adapting to human hosts, new studies find The New York Times (Thu Nov 03)
"Here’s what we could be doing to stop pandemics like Zika and Ebola" TIME (Wed Nov 02)
Here's what we could be doing to stop pandemics like Zika and Ebola TIME (Wed Nov 02)
In post-Ebola Sierra Leone, more than half the population face food shortages - U.N. The Globe and Mail (Thu Oct 27)
Nurse who caught Ebola settles suit against Dallas hospital NBC News (Mon Oct 24)
Texas hospital reaches settlement with nurse infected with Ebola Reuters Top News (Mon Oct 24)
Ebola drug ZMapp may help, but is not a miracle cure FRANCE 24 English (Thu Oct 13)
Kim Kardashian robbery Halloween costume, sexy Ebola nurse – and more The Guardian (Wed Oct 12)
Ohio bridal shop that went out of business amid Ebola scare sues hospital for negligence. ABC News (Thu Oct 06)
Ebola nurse Pauline Cafferkey returns to hospital under police escort The Guardian (Thu Oct 06)
The first book-length ethnographic study of the Ebola epidemic is controversial in places The Economist (Tue Sep 20)
Exciting news: A promising breakthrough for potential Ebola vaccine → Senator Patty Murray (Fri Jul 31)
Encouraging news on Ebola vaccine. Medical research saves lives: Amy Klobuchar (Sun Aug 02)
Ebola gravediggers look to the future in Sierra Leone BBC News (World) (Wed Aug 31)
[email protected] extends TPS registration deadline 4 individuals from ebola-affected nations. Proud to have advocated for this Jose E. Serrano (Fri Jun 26)
We must address underlying healthcare issues in West Africa or we risk Ebola or other diseases in US again @RollCall Congressmember Bass (Wed Jun 17)
WELL WHAT A RELIEF: Great news! North Korea claims to have cured SARS, MERS, Ebola and HIV/AIDS! Herman Cain (Mon Jun 22)
How close is the Ebola vaccine? Billy Long (Fri Jun 12)
Monmouth Legislators call on FMERA board to reject plan to use Ft Monmouth as Ebola quarantine site Sen. Jennifer Beck (Tue Jun 02)
Sent letter w/@SenSchumer to @DHS asking them to extend TPS application deadline 4 people from ebola-stricken nations Jose E. Serrano (Sat May 16)
WHO announces changes after Ebola criticism - KY3 News Billy Long (Mon May 18)
Reminder: May 20 is the deadline to register for Ebola-related Temporary Protected Status Donald Payne Jr. (Tue May 12)
Reminder: May 20 is the deadline to register for Ebola-related Temporary Protected Status Donald Payne Jr. (Tue May 12)
Patient admitted to UConn Health Center is at low risk for Ebola. Hospital activating protocol as a precaution: Chris Murphy (Wed May 13)
On May 2, we’re holding an Ebola-related immigration workshop w/ reps of @SenatorMenendez & @CoryBooker. Details: Donald Payne Jr. (Tue Apr 28)
[email protected] covers my meeting with Guinea’s president and why the US needs to still work to bring Ebola to 0. Congressmember Bass (Mon Apr 20)
Montco firm picked to lead $45M effort to battle Ebola via @PHLBizJournal Chaka Fattah (Wed Apr 15)
Thank you @101stAASLTDIV for the sacrifices you made to contain Ebola in West Africa. Welcome home. Marsha Blackburn (Wed Apr 15)
The different ways women are confronting the Ebola crisis. @UNWomenCanada @UN_Women Nina Grewal (Wed Apr 08)
The African continent is so much more than war & Ebola. Visit @LA_Mag to learn why I enjoyed visiting Botswana: Congressmember Bass (Tue Mar 24)
President of the Republic of Liberia: "2 years after Ebola, Liberia is a changed nation" TIME.com (Mon Aug 08)