HOME >> Channels >> The World Bank

The World Bank   

 
News about The World Bank
World Bank to stop lending for most oil and gas projects from @ShawnMcCarthy @GlobeBusiness The Globe and Mail (Tue Dec 12)
IMF, World Bank leaders vow to fight climate change and income inequality, resist skepticism over globalization… ABC News (Sat Oct 14)
World Bank assigns $8bn for SilkRoad projects RT (Tue Sep 12)
Morning Update: Bombardier unit hid shell company from World Bank, court told; solitary-confinement trial winds down The Globe and Mail (Fri Sep 01)
Exclusive: House budget would decimate World Bank funding. Foreign Policy (Mon Jul 17)
Ivanka Trump and the World Bank have a new idea to help women globally Washington Post (Sat Jul 08)
Pres. Trump announces US will pledge $50 million to new World Bank initiative his daughter Ivanka helped spearhead… ABC News (Sat Jul 08)
World Bank launches loan programme for women entrepreneurs Reuters Top News (Sat Jul 08)
Trump says Ivanka's life would be "so much easier" if he wasn't her dad; pledges $50M to her World Bank initiative… ABC News (Sat Jul 08)
World Bank approves $345 million loan for Tanzania port expansion Reuters Top News (Mon Jul 03)
South Sudan's million-strong refugee crisis is a test for the World Bank The Guardian (Sun Jul 02)
The World Bank is satisfied that Uzbekistan is phasing out forced and child labor. Watchdog NGOs aren't. Foreign Policy (Thu Jun 29)
The World Bank is satisfied that Uzbekistan is phasing out forced and child labor. Watchdog NGOs aren't. Foreign Policy (Thu Jun 29)
World Bank raises $500 mn with 'pandemic bonds' FRANCE 24 English (Thu Jun 29)
The World Bank is satisfied that Uzbekistan is phasing out forced and child labor. Watchdog NGOs aren't. Foreign Policy (Wed Jun 28)
The World Bank is satisfied that Uzbekistan is phasing out forced and child labor. Watchdog NGOs aren't. Foreign Policy (Wed Jun 28)
Forced labor in Uzbekistan's cotton fields linked to World Bank projects, according to a new @hrw report. Foreign Policy (Wed Jun 28)
The World Bank is satisfied that Uzbekistan is phasing out forced and child labor. Watchdog NGOs aren't. Foreign Policy (Tue Jun 27)
Forced labor in Uzbekistan's cotton fields linked to World Bank projects, according to a new @hrw report. Foreign Policy (Tue Jun 27)
World Bank funds linked to forced labour in Uzbekistan The Guardian (Tue Jun 27)
Forced labor in Uzbekistan's cotton fields linked to World Bank projects, according to a new @hrw report. Foreign Policy (Tue Jun 27)
Forced labor in Uzbekistan's cotton fields linked to World Bank projects, according to a new @hrw report. Foreign Policy (Tue Jun 27)
Forced labor in Uzbekistan's cotton fields linked to World Bank projects, according to a new @hrw report. Foreign Policy (Tue Jun 27)
NEW: U.S. employee of World Bank kidnapped on his way to work in Afghanistan, Kabul police say ABC News (Sun Jun 18)
UPDATE: U.S. citizen not a World Bank employee but works for affiliated project, World Bank spokesperson says ABC News (Sun Jun 18)
numberoftheday: 520 million dollars is the amount planned in aid for Afghanistan, approved by The World Bank!…… FRANCE 24 English (Wed Jun 14)
numberoftheday: 520 million dollars is the amount planned in aid for Afghanistan, approved by The World Bank!…… FRANCE 24 English (Wed Jun 14)
World Bank probing Bombardier railway From @markmackinnon (for subscribers) The Globe and Mail (Fri Jun 09)
World Bank economist: Risks to world economy receded FRANCE 24 English (Mon Jun 05)
World Bank sees improving global economy but risks remain FRANCE 24 English (Mon Jun 05)
World Bank sees improving global economy but risks remain FRANCE 24 English (Mon Jun 05)
World Bank says trade, manufacturing to boost 2017 global growth Reuters Top News (Sun Jun 04)
India needs more jobs for women to boost growth: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Mon May 29)
A spat over language erupts at the World Bank The Economist (Fri May 26)
World Bank economist sidelined after demanding shorter emails and reports The Guardian (Fri May 26)
Gaza power cuts causing humanitarian crisis: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Thu Apr 27)
Ivanka Trump and the World Bank are in preliminary discussions about a female entrepreneurship fund TIME (Thu Apr 27)
World Bank says it is in discussions with Ivanka Trump about fund to help women entrepreneurs Washington Post (Wed Apr 26)
World Bank Group, China-led AIIB agree to deepen cooperation Reuters Top News (Mon Apr 24)
IMF drops condemnation of trade protectionism, climate change references from statement at meetings with World Bank… ABC News (Sun Apr 23)
IMF and World Bank: Trump trade face-off euronews (Thu Apr 20)
World Bank chief echoes Bill Gates's warning to Theresa May on aid The Guardian (Thu Apr 20)
On Trump's home turf, his policies cloud the start of IMF and World Bank spring meetings: Reuters Top News (Thu Apr 20)
Worries over Trump policies cloud start of IMF, World Bank meetings Reuters Top News (Thu Apr 20)
World Bank ready to help Venezuela if asked: Latam chief Reuters Top News (Wed Apr 19)
Developing nations' demands for better life must be met, says World Bank head The Guardian (Tue Apr 11)
IMF, WTO and World Bank say return to protectionism would threaten global recovery National Post (Tue Apr 11)
Free trade must be defended, IMF, WTO and World Bank warn The Guardian (Mon Apr 10)
The World Bank's newly appointed chief defends globalization, saying it has helped richer and poorer countries… CBS News (Tue Mar 21)
World Bank announces $57 bln in financing for Africa FRANCE 24 English (Mon Mar 20)
JUST IN: Letter Bomb with firework explodes at Paris office of IMF, World Bank NBC News (Thu Mar 16)
World Bank indirectly backs harmful SE Asian projects: report FRANCE 24 English (Fri Mar 17)
World Bank overturns order for Venezuela to pay $1.4 bn to Exxon FRANCE 24 English (Sat Mar 11)
Farmers sue World Bank lending arm over alleged violence in Honduras The Guardian (Wed Mar 08)
World Bank loan scheme 'failing clean energy' BBC News (World) (Fri Jan 27)
PEOPLE & PROFIT - Reasons to be cheerful: World Bank forecasts growth picking up in 2017 FRANCE 24 English (Fri Jan 13)
Uncertainty over Trump policy clouds global outlook: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Wed Jan 11)
World Bank sees higher 2017 global growth, uncertainty over U.S. policy Reuters Top News (Wed Jan 11)
World Bank downgrades India's growth forecast to 7% The Guardian (Wed Jan 11)
Trump and Brexit put global economic growth at risk, World Bank says The Guardian (Tue Jan 10)
World Bank forecasts brighter prospects for 2017 CTV News (Wed Jan 11)
World Bank approves $1.5 bn in aid for war-torn Iraq FRANCE 24 English (Wed Dec 21)
Sri Lanka says it secures $1.34 bn World Bank loan FRANCE 24 English (Sat Dec 17)
World Bank raises record $75bn to help poorest members The Guardian (Thu Dec 15)
Residents of Libya and analysts tell of deteriorating situation as World Bank forecasts possible economic collapse. Al Jazeera English (Thu Nov 17)
VIDEO - Environment: World Bank says natural disasters pushed 26 million into poverty each year… FRANCE 24 English (Tue Nov 15)
World Bank broke own rules as coalmine left Kosovo village 'in limbo' The Guardian (Mon Nov 14)
Natural disasters push 26m into poverty each year, says World Bank The Guardian (Mon Nov 14)
Natural disasters drive 26mn people into poverty annually - World Bank RT (Mon Nov 14)
Libyan economy is facing collapse - World Bank RT (Tue Nov 01)
World Bank appoints Kristalina Georgieva as chief executive The Guardian (Fri Oct 28)
EU's Georgieva resigns to join World Bank: statement FRANCE 24 English (Fri Oct 28)
New Zealand tops the World Bank's list of the easiest places on the planet to do business CNN International (Wed Oct 26)
VIDEO - Ex-World Bank chief, former Republican official calls Trump 'dangerous' FRANCE 24 English (Wed Oct 12)
World Bank says Paris climate goals at risk from new coal schemes The Guardian (Sun Oct 09)
The World Bank and the IMF won't admit their policies are the problem The Guardian (Sun Oct 09)
Globalization leads to inequality, World Bank admits RT (Fri Oct 07)
World powers 'misuse' World Bank, IMF FRANCE 24 English (Thu Oct 06)
69% of ISIS recruits have at least secondary education, better educated than average countrymen – World Bank RT (Thu Oct 06)
IMF and World Bank launch defence of open markets and free trade The Guardian (Thu Oct 06)
Over two-thirds of foreign IS group recruits are well educated, World Bank finds FRANCE 24 English (Thu Oct 06)
World Bank issues warning on stunting in children, but points to Peru's success The Guardian (Tue Oct 04)
World Bank says extreme poverty is falling, but income inequality needs attention euronews (Mon Oct 03)
Maybe China needs a real CleanPowerPlan. U.S. vs China CarbonEmissions trend, according to avail World Bank data-> U.S. Rep. Billy Long (Mon Aug 03)
Audio/transcript of intv w/ @RickSantorum on Iran sanctions, China's new "world bank," same-sex weddings and more: Hugh Hewitt (Fri Apr 17)
World Bank suffering 'leadership crisis,' staff say FRANCE 24 English (Thu Aug 11)
Only one in five Pacific homes have electricity: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Thu Aug 04)
Indonesia's president appoints World Bank's Sri Mulyani as finance minister Reuters Top News (Wed Jul 27)
World Bank fails to commit to human rights in new safeguard draft, upsets advocacy RT (Fri Jul 22)
Why is the World Bank backing coal power in Europe's youngest country? The Guardian (Wed Jul 20)
The World Bank hires Paul Romer, a famous contrarian The Economist (Mon Jul 18)
Escalation of Ebola crisis could have been avoided, says World Bank president The Guardian (Mon Jul 18)
Reasons to be enthusiastic about China's answer to the World Bank The Economist (Mon Jul 04)
After Ebola, World Bank creates pandemic insurance plan FRANCE 24 English (Sat May 21)
World Bank launches $500 million insurance fund to fight pandemics Reuters Top News (Sat May 21)
Climate change puts 1.3bn people and $158tn at risk, says World Bank The Guardian (Mon May 16)
World Bank says India faces stark digital divide FRANCE 24 English (Tue May 10)
How co-hosting concerts in her living room helped a World Bank retiree reinvent herself Washington Post (Fri May 06)
Plans for coal-fired power in Asia are 'disaster for planet' warns World Bank The Guardian (Thu May 05)
World Bank won't have to hand over documents in Canadian corruption case: SCC CTV News (Fri Apr 29)
Top court rules World Bank does not have to hand over files in SNC case from @GlobeBusiness The Globe and Mail (Fri Apr 29)
[THE MAGAZINE] Is Jim Yong Kim destroying the World Bank or saving it from itself? Foreign Policy (Fri Apr 29)
[THE MAGAZINE] Is Jim Yong Kim destroying the World Bank or saving it from itself? Foreign Policy (Fri Apr 29)
[THE MAGAZINE] Is Jim Yong Kim destroying the World Bank or saving it from itself? Foreign Policy (Thu Apr 28)
World Bank halts disbursements in Mozambique over hidden debt FRANCE 24 English (Thu Apr 28)
[THE MAGAZINE] Is Jim Yong Kim destroying the World Bank or saving it from itself? Foreign Policy (Thu Apr 28)
[THE MAGAZINE] Is Jim Yong Kim destroying the World Bank? Foreign Policy (Wed Apr 27)
Ageing Israel accords harm Palestinian economy: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Mon Apr 18)
World Bank urges Arab donors to fulfill Gaza pledges after report shows fraction of what was promised was given: The Associated Press (Mon Apr 18)
Economic slump worries as IMF, World Bank pledge action FRANCE 24 English (Sun Apr 17)
Cost of rebuilding Syria may reach $180bn – World Bank RT (Fri Apr 15)
IMF, World Bank focus on economic risks of Brexit, tax evasion FRANCE 24 English (Fri Apr 15)
World Bank and China-backed infrastructure bank join hands FRANCE 24 English (Thu Apr 14)
51 of 68 companies using World Bank funds for projects in Africa used tax heavens - report RT (Tue Apr 12)
Most firms working with World Bank in Africa use tax havens: Oxfam FRANCE 24 English (Tue Apr 12)
World Bank lending hits post-financial crisis peak FRANCE 24 English (Tue Apr 12)
World Bank lending reaches crisis levels The Guardian (Mon Apr 11)
World Bank to boost funding for climate change projects FRANCE 24 English (Fri Apr 08)
World Bank to spend 28% of investments on climate change projects The Guardian (Fri Apr 08)
For real? World Bank expects Russian economy to grow in 2017 RT (Wed Apr 06)
Ukraine on course for modest growth: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Fri Apr 01)
Palestinian telecoms sector revenues plunge: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Fri Apr 01)
World Bank lending arm sees off lawsuit by Indian fishermen The Guardian (Wed Mar 30)
Many people need to fight for gay rights. But not technocrats in the World Bank The Economist (Thu Mar 03)
Why don't World Bank projects safeguard women's rights? The Guardian (Tue Feb 23)
Middle East economic growth possible through peace: World Bank AJE News (Fri Feb 05)
Nigeria seeks big loans from World Bank, other lenders FRANCE 24 English (Tue Feb 02)
World Bank slashes 2016 oil price forecast from @GlobeBusiness The Globe and Mail (Tue Jan 26)
Oil prices to stay near current level throughout 2016, World Bank says The Guardian (Tue Jan 26)
THE INTERVIEW - Davos 2016: 'Now is the time' for structural reforms, World Bank president… FRANCE 24 English (Fri Jan 22)
World Bank urges Latin America not to leave young people behind The Guardian (Thu Jan 21)
World Bank gone wild: Zoo in India granted funding in a global first RT (Sun Jan 17)
World Bank rival launched in Beijing euronews (Sun Jan 17)
Silicon Valley tech firms exacerbating income inequality, World Bank warns The Guardian (Fri Jan 15)
World Bank cancels funding for Uganda road amid sexual assault claims The Guardian (Tue Jan 12)
World Bank cuts global growth forecast amid emerging markets’ slowdown from @GlobeBusiness The Globe and Mail (Sun Jan 10)
The World Bank confirms fears: slowdown in China will stymie markets in Russia and Brazil: Foreign Policy (Fri Jan 08)
World Bank warns of "perfect storm" in 2016 CNN (Thu Jan 07)
World Bank warns of "perfect storm" in 2016 CNN International (Thu Jan 07)
The World Bank confirms fears: slowdown in China will stymie markets in Russia and Brazil: Foreign Policy (Thu Jan 07)
World Bank sees weaker 2016 growth in global economy FRANCE 24 English (Thu Jan 07)
The World Bank confirms fears: slowdown in China will stymie markets in Russia and Brazil: Foreign Policy (Thu Jan 07)
World Bank issues 'perfect storm' warning for 2016 The Guardian (Wed Jan 06)
Born lucky? World Bank reveals life expectancy rates for today's infants The Guardian (Wed Dec 30)
Video: World Bank issues $1.2-billion loan to Iraq from @GlobeBusiness The Globe and Mail (Fri Dec 18)
Syrian refugees: World Bank and UN urge sea change in handling of crisis The Guardian (Wed Dec 16)
Indonesia forest fires cost twice as much as tsunami clean-up, says World Bank The Guardian (Tue Dec 15)
East Asia Pacific ageing faster than anywhere else in history: World Bank FRANCE 24 English (Wed Dec 09)
Population of Asian countries aging faster than anywhere else in the world: World Bank CTV News (Wed Dec 09)
World Bank: Rapidly aging Asian counties need to encourage more women to work, reform pensions The Associated Press (Wed Dec 09)